I am realizing that seminary did not really prepare me to be a pastor.  Seminary prepared me to preach and to teach and to “do things” at the church, but there’s a hell of a lot more to being a pastor than “doing stuff at the church.”  I think that being a pastor is a little like getting married.  Four years of “dating” the church and “dating” the position of pastor doesn’t really prepared you for the reality of being married to it.  You date someone and you know that you love them more than anything else or anyone else; you love them enough to need to spend the rest of your life with that person.  And you get married, and it is wonderful and mostly everything you ever hoped it could be – but you still feel woefully inadequate for the position of wife.  (Note: This is only loosely based on feelings I felt in my own first year of marriage.  Mostly based on the feelings I am currently processing about first call.)

I don’t believe that seminary prepared me to really be a pastor – but I do believe that seminary taught me many things and made me brave enough, with God’s grace, to try…

